In which I explain the name of this blog

January 1, 2008 at 8:30 pm Leave a comment

Hello out there on the Internets! Welcome to the greatest, most stupendous blog in the history of blogs ever written (by me).

I’m kind of new at this, and I have no idea how much time I’m going to have to update it or how regularly I might do so. In the meantime, though, I guess I should try to shed some light on what probably seems a rather bizarre blog title.

Falcarius utahensis is the name of a strange-looking dinosaur that lived in North America 125 million years ago. It’s signifiArtist's depiction of Falcarius from National Geographiccant not only because it is a member of the extremely odd therizinosaur family – a group well within the meat-eating theropod group that seems adapted for eating plants – but because it is the most primitive member of this family currently known. This makes it a good example of a transitional fossil, one that sheds light on a particular example of evolutionary change.

So, because I am a lifelong dinosaur enthusiast (and former student of paleontology), and because I am an ardent defender of the theory of evolution from the cultural forces that seek to undermine it, and because the name is just friggin’ cool, I’ve chosen it as my alias for the purpose of this blog.

As for the second half of the name…well, I’ve always liked the word “defenestrate”. It comes from the Latin fenestre for window, and thus means “to throw out of a window”. Not that I’ve ever actually done it, but it’s a favorite word.

So basically, I’ve named my blog after a dinosaur name and a word that I just think sound cool.

Boy, I’m shallow, aren’t I?

Entry filed under: Personal. Tags: , , , , .

Statement of purpose

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


image

Recent Posts

Categories


